Saturday, October 10, 2009

Review: Oracle's Legacy Volume I & II

This is the first and second installments of the Oracle's Legacy series by R. B. Holbrook.

Oracle's Legacy: Children of Sun Volume I

The Structure is a secret civilization made up of Seven Houses that seek enlightenment by attempting to understand the nature of energy.

The foundation of the Houses is collapsing and the seeds of infighting are beginning. Soon, without their notice, the people of the Houses begin losing their special powers.

The Oracle, the leader of the Structure, hates to see what has become of her people, but she's dying and can do little to help them. Now, as the Structure begins tipping deeper into darkness, a new leader is needed to prevent conflict among the houses from escalating into an all-out war.

Ollie could be the key to finding the next leader, but she has her family to think of and a life to live. Getting involved in a violent conflict is the last thing she wants to do, and so she must remain unnoticed.

As power hungry factions hunt for Ollie, however, she has no choice but to get involved. She'll do whatever's necessary to protect her loved ones.

Oracle's Legacy: Shadows of Fate Volume II

Starting where Children of Sun concludes, Shadows of Fate opens with the Oracle Bethea smoking shaman, sitting wrapped in her blanket. She’s being held prisoner in a penthouse on the top of an office building in downtown Atlanta, Georgia, by the Head of Flame Arthur Clifton.

Contemplating the future of the Structure, she learns that her ability to see into the future is slowly fading, but not all her powers are dwindling. Bethea can still hear her husband calling to her in her mind, wanting to know where she is and what she is up to, but she shuts him out. Instead, her mind goes to thoughts of her daughter, Ollie who was changed by death. Soon she gets another visit and this time from someone who she can’t shut out.

The second book in this series was submitted for review - and because I had not read the first book, the author was kind enough to send me both volume I and volume II. I retain both copies. :)

R. B. Holbrook is an author I had not heard of before reading Oracle's Legacy Children of Sun and Oracle's Legacy Shadows of Fate - which are her first and second books in the Oracle's Legacy trilogy. The third installment, Dawn of Illumination Volume III has a projected release date of January 2010.

These books are mind boggling. The world Ms. Holbrook has created is unique and the powers that reside in the people who populate this world are fascinating. We have healers, killers, possessors, mind benders, flame throwers, seers, shadow dwellers...the list is long and varied.

I was immediately drawn into Volume I - the characters leapt from the page and grabbed me right from the beginning. From the moment I met Ollie I was invested in her character and eager to know what was going to happen next. As soon as I finished Volume I - I grabbed Volume II.

Volume II - Oracle's Legacy Shadows of Fate picks up with no break in the story. The Structure is failing and all the Houses are scrambling. Some want to embrace a new Oracle, others are killing off perceived threats to the Structure. Ollie's family is caught in the middle and trying to protect their own.

With new allies emerging Ollie's family has to decide who to trust, who to leave behind and how each one of them fits into the future of the Structure.

This series is labeled an imaginative science fiction - but I see some urban fantasy in here as well. The world of the Structure resides alongside that of the humans and the humans have no idea of its existence.

These books are fast paced, action packed and kept me on the edge of my seat. They are very in-depth and richly detailed.

I really enjoyed both books and I can't wait for the third installment. I am eager to find out how this is going to end and just what happens to Ollie's family.

I give both Oracle's Legacy Children of Sun and Shadows of Fate 4 out of 5 stars. :)


Oracle's Legacy Children of Sun is available now.
Oracle's Legacy Shadows of Fate will be released on October 26, 2009.
Pre-orders are available on the author's website :

The Publisher - Lulu - offers a free download in e-book format of the first book, Oracle's Legacy Children of Sun. The website is :

I found the free download by searching for the author R. B. Holbrook in the search bar under books.


My Blog 2.0 (Dottie) said...

Hi Michelle!

I just received these for review as well, and they sound good from your review, so can't wait to start them. I have peeked at Chapter One, tasty.

I think Lulu is offering a free download of the first book, in case anyone else wants to take a peak.

Dottie :)

Michelle G said...


I can't wait to read your thoughts on this series.

I will add that info about the free download. Thank you.


Donna [Fantasy Dreamer's Ramblings] said...

Hi Michelle, these books sound vaguely familiar. They also sound interesting. Are these books also YA?

Thanks for the link on the free ebook download of the first book. :)

Michelle G said...


No these are not YA books - they have a great deal of violence in them.

When I was reading the books my daughter asked me what they were about - the closest comparison I could make was to the movie Matrix - but that is not a good comparison either. LOL Maybe it is because they both have an Oracle and beings with extraordinary abilities. :)


Donna [Fantasy Dreamer's Ramblings] said...

Thanks for the info, Michelle. I downloaded the ebook of the first book. I hope to check it soon. :)

Blodeuedd said...

Cool :D
I have to go and check out that site. I love a free download